History of Raven District

Raven District was first founded shortly after World War II. Most of the houses in the area were built for soldiers and their families as they were returning from war. With new families came growing children and the desire for a Scouting program quickly grew. The district has grown and now serves six school districts: Barbers Hill, Galena Park, Sheldon, Crosby, Channelview, and Goose Creek CISD school districts.

In 1809, at the age of 16, Sam Houston ran away from his home in Tennessee and lived among the Cherokees. He was adopted by Chief Oolooteka and given the name Colonneh or the “Raven.” He developed a deep, life-long affection for the tribe and considered the Cherokee his surrogate family. He married a Cherokee woman, Tlahina, became a Cherokee citizen and was actively involved in peacekeeping, trade and other tribal affairs. He spent much of his career promoting peaceful and moderate policies toward Native Americans.

Pack and Troop 1301 has been active for 70+ years; in the earliest days, J.P. White was their leader for 40 years. For over 48 years he gave generously to Scouting and the community with his time, talent, and money. The City of Houston named J.P. White park after him. On November 3, 1984, the council dedicated a special event area at the old Camp Strake site known as the J.P. White camporee site. The district celebrates Mr. White by honoring a Scouter every year at the District Dinner with a special award appropriately named after him, the J.P. White Lifetime Achievement Award.  

J.P. White

Raven District Awards

Raven District recognizes registered Scouters for service to youth in the district. Awards are present at the annual Raven District Dinner.

Silver Beaver Award   District Award of Merit   Family of the Year   J.P. White Lifetime Achievement   James E West 

Silver Beaver Award

The Silver Beaver Award is given to individuals who have made an impact on the lives of youth through service given to the council. The Silver Beaver award is the highest form of recognition that a local council can bestow on a volunteer. Recipients are selected based on their noteworthy service to the Scouting program and community service.  The Silver Beaver recipients are recognized at the SHAC Recognition Reception in the fall.

1955    Elo Veselka 2011    Jana Mayfield 2015    Sandra Green
1958 J.P. White 2012 Hazel Buck 2015 Jeffery Minson
1972 Mrs. Elo Veselka         2013 Clarence Buck 2016 Will Repman
1985 William Goforth 2013 Robert Fierro 2017 Kelley Whitehead Sr.
1989 Joyce Goforth 2014 Roy Green 2017 Angie Repman
1990 Eloy Valdes 2014 Donna Bernelle          2020 David Proctor
1991 Janet H. Valdes 2014 Carl Privette 2020 Valerie Richardson
2001 Orlin Bergh 2015 James Beesley 2020 Aurelia Zapata
2002 Ginny Boucher 2015 Brian Bernelle    
2011 Greg Carr 2015 Jose Duarte    

Raven District Award of Merit

District Award of MeritThe District Award of Merit is awarded by a district to registered Scouters for service to youth in the district. This is a council-sponsored award that is the highest honor that a district can bestow upon one of its Scouters. Limited to one award for every 25 units in the district.  The nominee must be a registered Scouter and must have rendered noteworthy service to Scouts over an extended time. The nature and value of "noteworthy service" may consist of a single plan or action that contributed vitally to the lives of large numbers of youth or it may have been given to a small group over an extended period of time to youth in and outside of Scouting. The recipient receives a plaque, signed certificate, and official knot badge at the Raven District Recognition Dinner.

* Barney Stinger 1991  Mike Callahan 1999  Denise Ames 2007  Mark Stanforth 2017  Gina Hullum
* Eloy Valdes 1991 Donna Bernelle 1999 Olin Bergh 2008 Carl Privette 2017 Kelley Whitehead
* Larry French 1992 Jim Berry 2000 Jana Mayfield 2008 Dr. Charles Grant     2018 Valerie Richardson
* Carl Franch 1992 Mary Bogan 2000 Ricky Fuselier 2009 Erin Bertrum 2018 Aurelia Zapata
* Vernon Stewart 1993 Marie Berry 2000 Tracy Scannell 2010 Angie Broussard 2019 Ronnie Zapata
* Pauline Ewing 1993 Wendy Callahan     2001 Jack Flynn 2010 Greg Carr 2019 Jillian Vondenstein
* Mary Ann McCarthy     1994 Karen DeLoss 2001 Ginny Boucher 2011 Brian Bernelle 2020 Charles Neal
* Stella Bennett 1994 Rodney DeLoss 2001 Charlie Murrell 2011 Jose Duarte 2020 David Proctor
* Cecil Mconnell 1994 Regina Spradlin 2001 Jack Flynn 2011 Rita Willoughby    
* Mike Weinman 1995 Janice Roberts 2001 Ginny Boucher 2012 Hazel Buck    
* Bill Goforth 1995 Debbie Stanley 2001 Charlie Murrell 2012 Clarence Buck    
* Mike McCarthy 1996 Dawn Berger 2002 Angela Harrison     2013 Angie Repman    
* Woody Carter 1996 Jamie Berger 2002 Steve Scannell 2013 Roy Green    
* Shirle Szepsi 1997 Sonny Rhodes 2003 Jim Lightbody 2013 Jim Beesley    
* J.P. White 1997 Kathy Seydler 2003 Jerri Murrell 2014 Sandra Green    
* Debbie Moses 1997 Mike Beard 2004 Barbara Boman 2014 Jeff Minson    
* Cathy Graham 1998 Dan Omtvedt 2004 Laura Doty 2015 Lori Henderson    
* Janet Valdes 1998 Joe Alamia 2005 Marie Brumfield 2015 Will Repman    
1991 Sue Jones 1998 John Weems 2005 Veronica Reyes 2016 DL Canada    
1991  David Eckerman 1999 Felix Munos 2007 Travis Smith 2016 Robert Fierro    



Raven District Special Awards

Family of the Year Award Recipients    

J.P. White Lifetime Achievement Award    

James E West Society Members

1991  Eloy & Janet Valdes 1999  Clarence Sr. & Hazel Buck 2010  Thomas Anders
1992 Jim & Marie Beery 2000 Bill & Joyce Goforth 2010 Greg Carr
1993 Leonard & Sue Jones 2001 Eloy & Janet Valdes 2010 Eloy Valdes
1993 Mike & Wendy Callahan 2002 Jim & Marie Berry 2011 Donna Bernelle
1994 Rodney & Karen DeLoss 2003 Woody & May Jo Carte 2011 Janet Valdes
1995 Jamie & Dawn Berger 2004 Steve & Tracy Scannell 2012 Jana Mayfield
1996 Dan & Cheryl Omtvedt 2005 Conny & Jerry Harrison 2013 Carl Privette
1996 Sonny & Jaycene Rhodes 2008 Carl Privette 2014 Roy & Sandra Green
1997 Bryan & Cindy Barney 2009 Jana Mayfield 2015 Jose Duarte
1998 Jody & Kathy Seydler 2010 Marie Brumfield 2015 Kelley Whitehead
1999 Ricky & Phyllis Fuslier 2011 Donna Bernelle    
1999 Steve & Tracy Scannell 2012 Greg Carr    
2000 Allen & Ginny Boucher 2013 Jim Beesley    
2001 Charlie & Terri Murrell 2014 Roy Green    
2002 Marie Brumfield family 2015 Jeff Minson    
2002 Veronica Reyes family 2016 Angie & Will Repman    
2003 Barbara Bowman family 2017 Shawn Northrup    
2004 Mark & Jana Mayfield 2018 Rufus Pearson    
2005 Margaret & Ben Hunter 2020 Kelley Whitehead    
2009 Marie Brumfield family        
2009 Erin Bertram family        
2010 Angie & Marcus Broussard        
2011 Jose Duarte family        
2012 Angie & Will Repman        
2012 Sandra & Roy Green        
2013 Gina Hullum family        
2013 Veronica & Roger Tijerina        
2014 Jeff Minson family        
2015 Samantha West family        
2016 Clemmons family        
2016 Fullbright family        
2016 Samantha West family        
2017 Liska-Womack family        
2018 Valerie Richardson family        
2019 Karen Hattaway family        
2020 David & Amanda Murillo